And so it begins

My journey, since I chose to accept it, begins today.  I am one of 15 participants in the Fattymustrun Marathon Challenge #FMRMC and today our one year adventure begins.  Hard to imagine but in one year’s time, the 15 of us will be kicking off our shoes, relaxing, feet on the table, drink in the hand and so on because we will have accomplished our goal of running a marathon.  I’ld like to add successfully completing a marathon.  Because it will happen.

But we cannot run before we walk- the hard work starts here.

Julie, our leader for #FMRMC, emailed last night with month #1’s info- this weekend, I need to run a 2 mile baseline; this month, I will follow the 30 day squat program; and before June, I will be running a 5k.

Sounds pretty decent right?  We aren’t jumping into the deep end, which is what I would normally do.  I’m thankful that I have been training for the Colfax Half-Marathon (http://www.coloradocolfaxmarathon.org/TOUR2/HalfMarathon.aspx) otherwise this month might do me in.  Heck, this month might still do me in!  That is one of the reasons why I am committed to this challenge.  I need to prove to myself that I can stay in for the long haul.

So tonight, I will squat 50x and then go for a run (or vise versa), since last week’s running was practically zilch.  I think I managed 1.5 miles barely but I felt good- it wasn’t my idea to stop, Mother Nature was calling.  TMI but any runner knows what this sport does to your bodily functions.

Want to read about the other participants AND the woman who started it all?  Julie’s blog is her www.fattymustrun.wordpress.com and she has links to the other ladies.  Let’s get this party started right!

And not to worry, this message won’t self-destruct in 5 seconds.

Leave a Reply

