Minor adjustments

I’m not known for being flexible in my plans- I like having a path set to get from A to B and I don’t like when unforeseen changes or obstacles just pop up. I am working on being flexible but this process will take years to perfect. Rome wasn’t build in a day and all that.

I’ve decided to not beat myself up for making changes with my training plan because it doesn’t fit me. I actually threw my training plan out with the trash. It was a Nike training plan, half-marathon and Alberto Salazar created it. If you haven’t read his book, I believe it’s titled 14 minutes, it is an interesting read about a man who runs hardcore every time he came to the start line. His training plan is similar to his way of training (duh!) which if I was about 10-15 pounds lighter, I would have no problem. But I’m a bigger lady and the plan scheduled a high weekly mileage and running started to lose its spark.

You know what I mean- the joy of running went out the window. I love feeling the wind blowing through my ponytail, the thump-thump of my feet hitting the pavement, the sweat dripping off my face and the movement I can make. Wow, I can move! I can fly!

So out with the plan and in with the old- I’m going back to my previous training plan. I know my limits and I know when to push, which has been shown to me in this instance. For this, I am thankful.

Have you ever stopped a training plan because it didn’t fit you? How did you make adjustments?

Leave a Reply

